The American Innovation Dollars will have a single coin released during the introductory year, following by four different coin released per year for the duration of the series. A different reverse design will be issued for each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and the 5 U.S. territories. This will result in a total of 57 designs released between the years 2018 to 2032.

The authorizing legislation provides that the coins shall be issued for the states in the order that they ratified the Constitution or were admitted into the Union. The states will be followed by the design issued for the District of Columbia. Finally, the designs for the territories will be released in the following order: Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Since the American Innovation Dollars are only offered as numismatic coins, the release dates represent the date that the uncirculated versions of the coins were offered for sale by the United States Mint.

Year Jurisdiction Design Release Date
2018 Introductory First Patent December 14, 2018
2019 Delaware Classifying the Stars September 19, 2019
2019 Pennsylvania Polio Vaccine October 24, 2019
2019 New Jersey Light Bulb November 21, 2019
2019 Georgia Trustees’ Garden December 19, 2019
2020 Connecticut Gerber Variable Scale July 21, 2020
2020 Massachusetts Telephone October 29, 2020
2020 Maryland Hubble Telescope November 23, 2020
2020 South Carolina Septima Clark January 19, 2021
2021 New Hampshire Home Video Game System June 8, 2021
2021 Virginia Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel July 27, 2021
2021 New York Erie Canal August 31, 2021
2021 North Carolina First Public University October 12, 2021